Local Box 07.09.2008

And the bounty is great again this week… check out those white eggplants!  Some plans for this week:

  • We’ll do a repeat of the excellent pizza we made this week.  We topped it with: sliced eggplant that had been brushed with olive oil, salted, then broiled until it was golden; mozzarella; parmesan; and sautéed garlic and red-pepper flakes.  (I won’t treat the white eggplants any different than purple ones.)
  • Blueberries, peaches, and cantaloupe will all make great snacks.
  • I’ll cook the zucchini, summer squash, tomatoes, onion, and basil into a ratatouille to pour over polenta for quick weeknight suppers.
  • For brunch guests on Saturday, I’ll make a pitcher of watermelonade and a batch of okra cornmeal fritters to accompany waffles.  Both of these recipes were printed in last month’s Gourmet magazine (archives searchable at http://www.epicurious.com).
  • If any of the black-eyed peas survive my munching (They taste great raw!), I’ll steam them and serve as a side with bottled chili sauce.
  • Since I don’t have quite enough key limes for a pie, I think I’ll squeeze them and turn the juice into a summery cocktail.  There are – of course – loads of recipes to pick from on the internet.
  • And that sweet potato?  I’ll stash it under the counter until inspiration strikes!  It’s clean and unblemished, so it’ll keep a while.

What are you planning to do with your Local Box this week?

4 responses to “Local Box 07.09.2008

  1. I made a kind of strata by slicing all these veggies thinly (eggplants, yellow squash, potatoes, sweet potatoes), then layering along with some grated cheese, sauteed onions and garlic, chopped up basil and sea salt. I have to say, it was pretty tasty. My four-year-old loved it, too.

  2. For the peas, I am making the Texas Caviar recipe which was included in this week’s book; I just love dips and spreads when the weather is hot. I already made caponata, so I guess I was reading the forager’s mind since that will be next week’s recipe. On the experimental side, I am going to try something different with the bunch of basil this week–a lemon basil cake topped with berries. The recipe for that is in a cookbook called Simply Organic.

  3. I take fresh tortillas from Central and make burritos. First I take a little olive oil and a little butter and warm it in a pan. Then I slice some onion and saute a little, then add sliced zucchini and squash and saute until tender and salt a little. Then I place the squash mixture on the tortillas with some fresh chopped tomato and grated cheddar. Fold up and enjoy. It is sooo good.

Leave a Reply

