Okra, Ongoing

We fried last week’s okra a couple of nights ago in accordance with the instructions arteesvida and Dave Wells posted in the comments to Okra Overdose?.  It turned out great!

This week’s okra?  When I talked to my grandmother over the weekend, she was very clear that I MUST pickle it.  Now, I’ve seen a lot of pickled okra recipes and I’ve been skeptical.  But I always do what my grandmother tells me.  I’ll share her recipe if it turns out well… stay tuned!

2 responses to “Okra, Ongoing

  1. Did you see the pickled okra recipe in this week’s newsletter? Very nice for bloody marys in winter (with Tito’s Vodka of course)!

  2. Thanks, Elizabeth — I *had* missed it! Now I have a serious dilemma, of course… your recipe or my grandmother’s?!! Here’s yours, for all to see:

    Quick Pickled Okra

    2 1/2 cups white vinegar
    2 cups water
    3 tablespoons sugar
    2 tablespoons kosher salt
    1 teaspoon white peppercorns
    1 teaspoon coriander seeds
    1 teaspoon fennel seeds
    1 teaspoon cumin seeds
    4 fresh dill sprigs
    2 green or red jalapeño peppers, halved lengthwise
    1 1/2 pounds small okra pods

    Preparation
    Combine vinegar and the next 7 ingredients (through cumin seeds) in a large saucepan; bring to a boil. Cook 1 minute or until sugar and salt dissolve, stirring frequently. Remove from heat. Pack fresh dill sprigs, jalapeños, and okra pods into sterilized jars. Pour liquid to fill jars.

    Process in canning jars for 10 minutes or refrigerate okra in an airtight container for up to two weeks.

Leave a Reply

