Pickles!

As promised, I made pickles using an adaptation of my grandmother’s recipe, sent to me by my mother and credited to a friend of theirs named Mary Casata.  Instead of processing them, though, I made a simple refrigerator version by filling sealable leftover containers with the okra, then pouring the hot pickling liquid over them.  The result is quite nice – garlicky and crunchy.  (My recipe is at the bottom of this post.)

Then I opened the August issue of Gourmet and laughed out loud when I saw the title of a short piece in the Kitchen Notebook at the end of the magazine:  “Watermelon Again?”  It gave me the courage to face the two-and-a-half watermelons I’d accumulated from successive Greenling Local Boxes.

First, I made watermelon-rind pickles using the technique described in the magazine’s recipe for Smoked Pork Chop with Watermelon-Rind Pickle Salad, cutting my rind into fingerlings instead of julliene.  The result was delish!

Then?  I’ll share how my dinner party guests enjoyed four courses of watermelon in my next post.

Pickled Okra

1.5 lbs okra
2 t. dried dill (or 3 sprigs fresh)
3 cloves garlic
1 stalk celery, chopped
1/8 c. coarse, kosher salt
2 c. vinegar
2 c. water

Rinse okra and arrange in sealable leftover containers, leaving at least an inch of free space at the top.  Heat other ingredients to a boil in a saucepan over moderate heat, then pour hot liquid over okra and seal.  (If your containers are glass, do this gradually to give the glass time to expand and avoid explosion!)  Refrigerate, then enjoy cold!

Did anyone try Fearless Forager’s recipe yet?

Leave a Reply

