Local Box, 08.13.2008

Some inspiring new characters showed up in my Local Box today!  I’m planning to try a new pot pie recipe with the end of last week’s okra and this week’s yellow squash, garlic chives, and tomatoes. Later in the week, my husband wants to make soup from the lemony sorrel and another stir fry using the garlic chives, pattypan squash, peppers, crimini mushrooms, and Asian eggplant.  And that kabocha squash?  I’m not sure what I’ll do with that yet, but I’ll keep you posted!

How do you plan to eat out of your Local Box this week?

5 responses to “Local Box, 08.13.2008

  1. yes got my first local box today here in California.. googled some of my ingredients to figure out what to make and FOUND YOU!!!! ;-)) Lovely site

  2. Do you know what the round light green thing is between the squash and peppers in your photo? It doesn’t seem to match anything on the list… 🙂

  3. Welcome, Sabine! Hope you find some good ideas. And please share any great ones you have, too!

    Shannon, I’m so glad you asked! The light-green, softball-sized job is a cucumber, believe it or not! So keep it in the fridge, then eat it sliced or however you would a regular ol’ cucumber. Fearless Forager recommends peeling and seeding this variety before eating, though.

  4. This recipe looks great, Greenmue! Did you test it out yet?

Leave a Reply

