Local Box, 08.27.2008

Here’s what showed up on my door step yesterday.  Some new and some familiar…

  • I’m psyched to see local edamame!  We’ll steam that up, salt it, and eat it out of the pods as a snack, I’m guessing.
  • I’ll roast and freeze the butternut squash, then stash it in the freezer to be retrieved for soup when the weather cools off.
  • The red potatoes are going to be great in this gratin I’ve been wanting to make.

But what about all those peppers?  How are you planning to use those?

5 responses to “Local Box, 08.27.2008

  1. I was actually thinking about using the peppers, the tomatoes, and the cucumbers from last week in a gazpacho – will let you know how it goes…

  2. And by the way, thank you for referencing the edamame. I don’t think I’ve ever actually bought fresh, unshelled edamame and I didn’t know what to do with it…

  3. We’re pickling the okra and peppers — some jars okra only, some jars peppers only, some jars with both. Too bad we don’t really know how hot all those different peppers are… it’ll be fun to find out!

  4. OMG! We didn’t get the box this week (I forgot to place my order) but those peppers are begging to be roasted, blended and frozen for use in future dishes!

  5. My edamame (and some bell pepper) is definitely going into a batch of quinoa stir-fry! It’s a delicious recipe in the Veganomicon. Depending on how much we got (I haven’t gotten home yet to check our delivery), I might steam/salt up some too.

Leave a Reply

