Report from Fearless Forager, week of 09.22.2008

Here’s what to look for in your Local Box this week:

  • lettuce (assorted live, hydroponically grown)
  • sorrel
  • green beans
  • Meyer lemons
  • Key limes
  • zucchini
  • yellow squash
  • eggplant
  • sweet potatoes
  • roasted chile peppers
  • red potatoes
  • assorted greens
  • tomatoes
  • crimini mushrooms
  • basil

What did you make out of your Local Box this weekend?

4 responses to “Report from Fearless Forager, week of 09.22.2008

  1. I made lemon tartelettes. And it was so easy. It was an Anthony Boudain recipe and only contained heavy cream, sugar, 1/2 cup lemon juice, and eggs. I just mixed that together and poured it into these pre-prepared individual frozen pastries (I was feeling lazy) that only cost $1.95 at Central Market. Top with a dollop of whipped cream and a slice of lemon and you’ve got an ultra quick dessert that is company worthy.

  2. I had the most amazing dinner last night… stuffed marinated eggplant and basil pesto mashed potatoes with steamed green beans.
    I marinated the eggplant slices in balsamic vinegar, soy sauce, pepper, and roasted garlic, then broiled it for 3 min each side. For the stuffing I sauted onion, celery, basil, oregano, red pepper, then added bread crumbs until it browned. Then I added the remaining marinade and some feta cheese. I spooned the stuffing mixture onto each eggplant slice and rolled it over and secured it with a toothpick. The remaining stuffing I just dumped on top.
    For the mashed potatoes I boiled the red-skinned potatoes I have been collecting, then in the food processor I whizzed some basil, nutritional yeast, soy sauce, balsamic vinegar, and a little soymilk, then mixed that into the drained mashed potatoes, along with a little butter, salt, and pepper. (While the potatoes were boiling I put the green beans over them in a steamer basket till they were done.) My husband doesn’t really like eggplant but he loved this.

  3. Shannon, Hillary, These both sound amazing! My mouth is watering. Did either of you take pictures, by any chance?

  4. Sorry I’m no good with a camera!

Leave a Reply

