Local Box, 10.08.2008

That might be enough Key limes to make even my household sick of Key lime pie! I’m thinking I might try to preserve them (as I mentioned over at Texas Locavore today). Can you recommend a method for preserving Key limes?

And check out the micro broccoli greens! They look like a great omelet filler to me. And a tasty addition to a green salad!

How will you eat out of the Local Box this week?

11 responses to “Local Box, 10.08.2008

  1. I’m looking for a recipe that calls for 30 lemons, 10 limes, 10 chile peppers, and 15 sweet potatoes. If you think of anything, let me know!! πŸ™‚

  2. No ideas, just questions. What are the dark green leaves on the right bottom of your arrangement? They look tasty, but I didn’t see any of those in my box…. but I did have a lot of red chile peppers- maybe 20!! Do you have any suggestions for those? should I just roast them? Thanks!

  3. Chili peppers – Jamie Oliver in his cookbooks has lots of recipes for these. One of my favorites is salmon (cut up, large pieces), zucchini, chili peppers and asparagus, just sauteed together. He adds a couscous dish with cilantro, cherry tomatoes, and…lemon (use em up!) for the side. Very quick, very easy. Thanks for this blog site – we started ordering from Greenling a few weeks ago. Our neighbor told us about your site.

  4. The dark leaves are the chard that came in my Local Box this week. No chiles for me, though. I suppose we can chalk that up to a whim of nature!

  5. That’s a lot of chile peppers, Amanda! Are you interested in trying to dry them? One method for doing that is posted here:
    https://greenlinglocal.wordpress.com/2008/09/26/chiles-for-all-seasons/
    Do you like cooked peppers? If you do, you could stuff them with rice, raisins, and pine nuts and bake them….

  6. I mean collards! Those dark leaves are collard greens (not chard).

  7. I made a frittata last night with my red potatoes, a zucchini, a red chile, and an onion. Roasted the potatoes, sauteed the zucchini, onions, and pepper, layered them, poured eggs and cheese over and baked at 400 for around 20 minutes or so.

    Oh, and as for the limes and lemons, last week I had accumulated so many that I juiced them ALL – a total of FORTY key limes and about twelve lemons – and I just froze the juice for later use…Next time I want to make a key lime pie, it’s all right there, juiced and ready to go…

  8. Anyone know what the herb was in there? I can’t recall what it is by the smell…

  9. I don’t think there were any herbs in my box this week… Are you looking at the arugula, by chance (far left in the picture)?

  10. No, not arugula. It was definitely an herb from pure luck. i think it was dill now that i almost can’t use it…

  11. Hmm. Is it in the picture? Dill, as you probably know, is very delicate-looking, frondy. I love dill! I’d be tempted to saute it with some mushrooms and use as omelet-filler… or maybe use it with some pan-fried potatoes? You can also rinse it, dry well, chop, and stick it in a sealed container in the freezer until you feel inspired πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

