Local Box, 10.29.2008

The joy of opening my Local Box today reminded me of my first time. That first Local Box inspired me so! I documented all of its contents in a notebook and took pictures, too. I’ve come to expect the weekly bounty, now, and while I’m always glad to see it, it doesn’t often take my breath away anymore. But today: Flowers! Vibrant, fragrant, lush marigolds. Too many to fill just one vase! I arranged them into two – one for my desk and one for another room in the house.

It’s good to see the food too, of course. More fresh dill means I’ll preserve last week’s remaining dill in butter – more on that later. I’m also thinking of making some Meyer lemon sauce to freeze this week, and substituting Key limes for Meyer lemons in a batch of lemon squares.

What have you got planned for your Local Box this week?

2 responses to “Local Box, 10.29.2008

  1. With an end-of-the-week delivery, I didn’t get any marigolds this week 😦

    I can’t wait to hear about your dill butter – I’ve been at somewhat of a loss as to what to do with all that dill.

  2. Julie – so sorry you didn’t get marigolds this week. We’ll be sure to get you some next week if they’re still available.

    Mason Arnold
    http://www.Greenling.com

Leave a Reply

