Dinner of Many Veggies

fall veggie platter Shocked to realize last night that it was already Tuesday – and thus the eve of my new Local Box delivery – I cleared out the fridge last night for dinner. I grilled eggplant slices with olive oil, salt, and pepper on a stove-top grill pan, roasted green beans and red potatoes with rosemary, and cooked two butternut squashes I’d collected. We mashed the cooked squash with a bit of sour cream and balsamic vinegar, baked a quick batch of corn bread, and dressed some baby lettuce for a simple salad. Then I substituted Key-lime juice for a twist on Meyer Lemon Squares – and a very satisfying end to the meal.

What do you still have left from last week’s Local Box?

3 responses to “Dinner of Many Veggies

  1. I don’t have a box, yet. I do find though, the more I eat out, the less I choose meat as a meal!
    Plate looks delicious!

  2. I made a Mediterranean pasta last night using the chard, eggplant, oregano, and a few other things that weren’t from my box. Then today I am making a chickpea curry using some of the sweet potatoes, butternut squash, and apples. A few days ago I sauted an onion, halved cherry tomatoes, and added steamed green beans. We served that with scalloped potatoes using some of the red potatoes from my box.

  3. Oh yeah and I made a wonderful apple spice cake using 4 of the local box apples. I took it to an election party on Tuesday and everyone loved it!

Leave a Reply

