Eggplants: Roasted, Not Steamed

eggplant surpriseWhen I came home from taking my dog, Moxie, to the dog park on Saturday, Hubby had dinner ready to go. He’d started with a recipe called “Stir-fried Stuffed Steamed Eggplants” from a typically great cookbook called Buddha’s Table by Chat Mingkwan but, he discovered, steamed eggplant wasn’t a great thing. So after he’d steamed it and tasted it, he put it in the oven to roast with some olive oil and a sprinkling of salt and sugar, too. Then, he reports, “I cut up red potatoes, a small red onion, and two cloves of garlic. I put some olive oil in a pan and fried sage leaves in it until they turned dark green. (They get spotty, then turn kind of a deep emerald.) Then I took the sage leaves out of the oil and put the vegetables in. I sliced up some zucchini really thin and threw that in, too. Then I deglazed with a quarter-cup of Marsala and added about two tablespoons of soy sauce. I put a lid on the veggies and turned down the heat to let them steam while the eggplants were roasting, about 15 or 20 minutes total, until soft. Then I toasted some pine nuts. When I got the eggplants out of the oven, I poured the stir-fry over them and garnished with the sage and pine nuts.” My only regret is that we were out of rice. It would have been a wonderful way to soak up this tasty sauce.

One response to “Eggplants: Roasted, Not Steamed

  1. I love a good roasted eggplant! In particular, I’m a big fan of the texture of eggplant.

Leave a Reply

