My Favorite Brussels Sprouts

They’re caramelly and nutty, leafy and rich. If you’ve been reading this blog for long, you won’t be surprised to know that I got the recipe from the Gourmet Cookbook (“Pan-Browned Brussels Sprouts,” page 526. But virtually the same recipe is also online here.). We made them last night from last week’s Local Box brussels sprouts. My only regret is that we forgot to take a picture!

What’s your favorite way to eat brussels sprouts?

3 responses to “My Favorite Brussels Sprouts

  1. I love ’em roasted. Drizzle them with olive oil (or to reduce fat, spray with Pam) and sprinkle with salt and pepper and roast at 400 for 30 minutes. I could eat a pound of them like that.

  2. I love them almost any way. My favorite thing to do (and I do this with cabbage too…oooh, yummy) is to come home from the gym after work, tired and in a need of a shower (this is relevant) and quickly cut some up. I cut the baby spouts in fourths. While I’m cutting I lightly cook some garlic in a large cast iron pan, then add some onion, add the sprouts, let them sautee for a short time, and add just enough veg broth to keep them from burning. I put the lid on and go take my shower, change, get settled. When I’m all done, the sprouts are always perfectly done and tasty. Some times if there’s enough juice in the pan, I’ll poach an egg on the top. Perfect mix of protein and veggies!

    You may get a kick out of my chirstmas dinner contribution http://rideblessed.wordpress.com/2008/12/25/christmas-time-veggies-eaten/

  3. This is the first time I have ever cooked or eaten brussel sprouts. I used a recipe from Vegetarian Times that is very close to the Epicurious version, except you brown them and then add water to finish cooking them. I think I would prefer to roast them since I like a little crunch to my veggies. We added dried cranberries (added with the water) and finished them off with some crushed pecans that came with the Greenling artisan option. I don’t understand why these little beauties have such a stigma attached to them!

Leave a Reply

