Local Box, 02.25.2009

imgp6950

So many greens… it’s like Christmastime again! With kale, collards, mustard, lettuce, and cabbage in this week’s Local Box, we won’t be suffering for vitamins and fiber this week. On the contrary, this will make for a week of wonderful eating. I think I’ll make a favorite soba salad with the mustard greens for company this weekend – if this great weather holds, we’ll cook-out, and this salad is a great accompaniment to grilled goods. [Note that I’ll double the mustard – at least – and very possibly omit some of the other veggies. The sesame oil and the scallions – which I have from last week’s Box – are the essentials here.] And I thought I might have been off the hook in my pursuit of sauerkraut, but that cabbage tells me otherwise. I’m going to try a friend’s grandmother’s recipe next. Stay tuned!

What have you got planned for this week’s gratuitous greens?

2 responses to “Local Box, 02.25.2009

  1. I’m Gumbo z’herbes tonight! I’ll let you know how it turns out.

  2. Well it turned out good, but after trying leftovers the next day, I will say let it sit overnight before even trying it! It’s sooo much better after the flavors have developed and blended together.

Leave a Reply

