Potage Saint-Germain

imgp7081My husband cooks, so I shouldn’t complain. He cooks well, in fact – and the French pea soup he made for dinner last night using Local Box lettuce was no exception.

But I must confess, I was biting my tongue. We are so loaded with vegetables from Greenling right now that I have to pack our crisper drawers to get them to close. The kohlrabi, the green garlic, and the green onions have been booted to regular shelves, since they seem to stay crisp, even out of the drawers. But my dearest went to the grocery store for this recipe. He bought frozen peas, leeks, and fresh mint. Could we really not have substituted green onions for the leeks? Cilantro for the mint?

The soup turned out great, but I think I’ll test my theory. I love the French potage style of soup, so I want to try one with what we already have on hand. Lettuce, cilantro, green onions… what else? Maybe a garnish of microgreens? I’ll let you know how it turns out.

Don’t get me wrong, though. I’m *definitely* not complaining.

What have you eaten from your Local Box so far this week?

2 responses to “Potage Saint-Germain

  1. Hi, Locavore,
    I’m wondering what to do with my kohlrabi this week. Any ideas? We’ve already eaten the lettuce, so no chance of soup there. I feel like we’re going to turn into green leaves soon. Can’t be bad, though right? all this leaf consumption.

  2. Hey, Kelly,
    I just posted a kohlrabi recipe today. But my favorite one, still, is the one I posted on February 21 – Kohlrabi in Avgolemono Sauce. It’s a bit of effort, but sooooo good!

Leave a Reply

