Egg White Omelette with Sorrel and Tomatoes

Our Greenling box last week came with sorrel, which I never had before. The best way to describe it is kind of a green and kind of an herb (a gerb?). It looks much like a green but has a much sweeter and more pronounced flavor than any green that I’ve had. It’s most closely like spinach, so if you’re got a recipe that calls for spinach, try sorrel instead and see what you think.

My favorite omelette is spinach and mushrooms with some cheddar, so I thought I would sub sorrel for the spinach. Omelettes (and eggs in general) are kind of a personal thing, and everyone makes them differently. So if you have your own omelette recipe, use that! But definitely try to find sorrel.

Ingredients:

  • 1 tsp. olive oil
  • 1 medium shallot, sliced into rings
  • 1 bunch of sorrel, washed and trimmed of stems
  • Salt and pepper
  • Pam spray
  • 1 whole egg, plus 3 egg whites
  • 1 Tbsp. milk (This is optional, but I always make my eggs with milk.)
  • 1 handful of grape tomatoes (or ~1/2 c. chopped tomatoes)
  • 1/2 c. grated cheese

Directions:

  • Heat the olive oil in a pan over medium-high heat, then add the shallots and saute for ~2 minutes until they are lightly browned.
  • Reduce the heat to medium-low, then add the sorrel, a pinch of salt and a few grinds of pepper and cover the pan to allow the leaves to wilt. Toss every minute or so until the bunch is completely wilted (~2 minutes). Remove the wilted sorrel to a small bowl.
  • Spray a non-stick pan with Pam (I’m sure you could use the same pan, but then your omelette would taste entirely like sorrel and would be made with olive oil.) and heat over medium-high heat.
  • Beat the egg and egg whites together, then add the milk, a pinch of salt, and a few grinds of pepper. Add the egg mixture to the hot pan and let it sit for a few minutes until it becomes a bit opaque, then add the sorrel, tomatoes and cheese to one half of the eggs. Let sit a few minutes more, then flip the empty half over and remove the omelette to a plate.


My omelettes are never pretty. Sorry.

Verdict:
The sorrel has a strong lemon overtone, so this was a great citrus-y pick-me-up in the morning! The acidity from the tomatoes cut through the lemon nicely though, and rounded out the dish. I didn’t have any mushrooms on hand, though I think a chopped portabella might be nice in here. I kind of made this on a whim, so next time, I think I’ll try keeping the sorrel raw and seeing what happens. I’ll keep you posted!

Leave a Reply

