Blueberry Clafoutis

[Printable Recipe]

The food blogosphere was taken by storm by the recent movie, “Julie and Julia.” To be honest, I wanted no part of it. I was completely over the movie before it even came out (which is a shame because I hear that Meryl Streep was fantastic). As such, when most food bloggers were reaching for their versions of Mastering the Art of French Cooking, I kept my head down and muttered about the number of calories in a dish that used copious amounts of butter, cream and bacon.

Alas, that didn’t last.

Last week marked the end of a very long blueberry season here in Central Texas, and though I thought I used blueberries in every which way, I hadn’t yet made a clafoutis. Clafoutis, essentially a fruit custard in the form of a cake, is normally made with cherries, but I’ve also seen it made with blueberries for a new twist on a classic dish.

Unfortunately, I don’t actually own any of her cookbooks (my boeuf bourguignon is perfectly fine without lardons and I don’t even use cream of crap soup, thankyouverymuch!), so I had to improvise. Lucky for me, my fellow food bloggers, intent on channeling their inner Julia Child, had written up the recipe for me on their blogs.

Adapted from Julia Child, via Big City Cooking and The Way the Cookie Crumbles

Ingredients:

  • 1 c. blueberries
  • 1-1/4 c. milk (I used fat-free)
  • 2/3 c. sugar, divided
  • 3 eggs
  • 1/2 tsp. almond extract (The original recipe uses vanilla.)
  • 1/8 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 c. flour
  • Butter, for greasing the pan
  • Powdered sugar, for sprinkling

Directions:

  • Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Butter the bottom of a 9″ pie dish or tart pan and set aside.
  • Combine the milk, 1/3 c. sugar, eggs, almond extract, salt and flour in a blender. Mix thoroughly for a minute.
  • Pour some of the batter into the buttered dish until it comes 1/4″ up from the bottom. Bake for 3 minutes until the batter sets and is less jiggly.
  • Sprinkle the remaining 1/3 c. sugar and the blueberries over the firmed batter, then pour the rest of the batter on top. Continue baking for 45 minutes to an hour (though mine only took 40 minutes!) until the clafoutis is browned on top and the top has pulled away from the sides of the pan. A toothpick in the center should come out clean when it’s ready.
  • Sprinkle powdered sugar on top of the clafoutis and serve warm or at room temperature.

Verdict:
Even with 3 eggs, this dish is light and decadent without being overly rich. The almond extract was a perfect complement to the blueberries. Keeping the blueberries whole ensures that they burst in your mouth when you take a bite, and the bits of caramelized sugar around the edges were divine. For a dinner party, I’d make this in individual ramekins or tartlet pans for an easy and tasty dessert.

One response to “Blueberry Clafoutis

  1. I’m so guilty of being part of the Julia Child craze! I actually just bought her autobiography too. But I’m glad to have this motivation now, because I’ve had Mastering the Art of French Cooking for years and had never made anything from it.

Leave a Reply

