Local Box Meal Plan: Sept. 14-18

I’m back! I’ve got loads to share about my trip, but in the meantime, I’ll tide you over with my plan for our Greenling Local Box this week.

This week, we’re getting pickling cucumbers, yellow squash and yellow onion from Naegelin, green Meyer lemons from G&S Groves, green peppers, portabello caps from Kitchen Pride, sweet corn, okra from Bradshaw Farm, herb/basil from Pure Luck, Bibb lettuce from Bella Verdi, tomatoes from McCall Creek Farm, and Texas pears from Lightsey.

I’m making:

Breakfast:

  • Omelette with sauteed green peppers and portabellos

Side dishes:

  • Grilled sweet corn with herb compound butter

Dinner:

Dessert:

Meyer lemons are sweeter than normal lemons, so they’re great to use in desserts. How are you using yours?

One response to “Local Box Meal Plan: Sept. 14-18

  1. yes, I so need recipes for okra. Poor things are languishing in my veggie drawer, and sometimes in the compost heap. Sad but true. All i’ve done is fry them in some cornmeal, which is real tasty, but oily and monotonous!

Leave a Reply

