Local Box Meal Plan: Sept. 21-25

It’s cold and rainy outside, so this meal plan reflects the weather! Lots of soups, stews and stick-to-your ribs food. You know as soon as I get my Local Box on Thursday we’ll be in the 90s again. Oh well.

This week, we’re getting sweet corn, summer squash from Naegelin, southern peas from Animal Farm or Lightsey, purple eggplant, herb from Pure Luck, tomatoes from McCall Creek Farm, lettuce from Bluebonnet Hydroponics, pears from Lightsey, a variety of citrus from G&S Groves, green chiles and serranos from Lundgren, and pickling cucumbers or radish from My Father’s Farm.

So I’m making:

Appetizers:

  • Panzanella with cucumbers, tomatoes and herbs (crossing fingers for cucumbers and basil!)
  • Eggplant and squash caponata on bruschetta
  • Green salad with pears, blue cheese and candied pecans

Dinner:

I use citrus in so many of my dishes that I can’t think of anything I won’t use it in!

Leave a Reply

