Corn Pudding

[Printable Recipe]

With all of the rain and chilly weather we have had recently, I wanted to make corn chowder when I found out we were getting corn in our Greenling box. But by the time my box was delivered later in the week, temperatures were back in the 90s again. Greenling had included a recipe for corn pudding in the box though, and as I’m always looking for new Southern dishes, I thought I’d give it a try.

IMG_1464_edit

Recipe from Greenling

Ingredients:

  • Pam spray
  • 1-1/2 tsp. olive oil
  • 1 small onion, chopped
  • 1 small bell pepper, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • Salt and pepper, to taste
  • 2 c. corn kernels (I had 4 ears of corn.)
  • 1 c. milk (I used non-fat, it was fine.)
  • 1/4 c. cornmeal
  • 1 egg, plus 2 egg whites
  • 1-1/2 cups shredded Cheddar cheese
  • 2 Tbsp. chopped fresh parsley (I omitted this.)

Directions:

  • Preheat the oven to 375 degrees. Lightly grease a casserole dish with Pam spray, then set aside.
  • Heat the olive oil over medium-high, then saute the onion, garlic and bell pepper, adding salt and pepper to taste.
  • After about 2 minutes, add the corn kernels and continue to saute.
  • In another skillet, heat the milk over medium heat. When the milk is barely simmering, stir in the cornmeal and whisk about 2-3 minutes until thickened. Remove from the heat, then add salt and pepper to taste.
  • Whisk the eggs and egg whites together, then slowly whisk them into the cornmeal mixture (I tempered them so as not to end up with scrambled eggs.)
  • Stir the eggs-cornmeal mixture into the onion-corn mixture, then add 1 c. of the cheese and stir together.
  • Pour into the casserole dish and top with the remaining 1/2 c. cheese. Bake for 40 minutes or until the casserole is firm and the cheese is bubbly.

I served this with cornflake chicken, a recipe from Cory’s mom. Pound boneless chicken breasts until even and thin, dredge in ranch dressing (I use low-fat, and I sometimes do half ranch and half buttermilk), then dredge in cornflake crumbs and bake at 375 degrees for 22 minutes.

Verdict:
Such a simple and quick side dish that really highlights the sweet flavor of the corn. Make sure you bake this in an 8×8″ dish, not a 9×13″ baking dish (as I did!).

Leave a Reply

