Slow Cooker Pot Roast

[Printable Recipe]

I first made pot roast last year, when my husband introduced me to his mom’s recipe and my slow cooker. =) It’s one of the easiest recipes I’ve ever made, and always turns out really well. Since Greenling sent us turnips and red potatoes last week, I thought it was a great way to use them on one of the cooler days we had.

I sometimes serve this with mashed potatoes (as I did this time), but I also have chopped them and cooked them with the meat in the slow cooker. Keep in mind that if you cook the potatoes in the crock pot, the gravy tends to be thicker since the potatoes are so starchy.

I also usually sear the meat before putting it in the crock pot, but after doing some research online, I decided to skip the extra step this time.

Ingredients:

  • 2.5 lb. beef for slow roasting (I use chuck most of the time)
  • 2 medium or 1 large onion(s)
  • 1 small bag of baby carrots or 3 large, peeled carrots
  • 3 cloves minced garlic
  • 1 c. beef stock
  • 1 lb. turnips
  • 1 Tbsp. cornstarch

Directions:

  • Optional: sear meat in olive oil in a pan over high heat. It takes about 3 minutes per side to get a nice brown texture.
  • Roughly chop the veggies. Put all of the veggies and the garlic in the bottom of the crock pot.
  • If you’re searing the beef, after it has finished browning, put it on top of the veggies in the stock pot. If not, put the meat on top of the veggies in the stock pot, making sure that the fattier side is facing up (so that the fat drips over the meat and veggies while it cooks. Yay for self-basting!).

  • Mix the cornstarch and stock together and pour over the beef and veggies. Usually I make this with beef stock, but since I was making a dish with chicken stock later in the week and I knew I would have extra left over, I used chicken stock this time. The end result is the same.
  • Cook on low for 8 hours. After 8 hours have elapsed, shred the meat with 2 forks. It’s easiest to do this directly in the slow cooker. It should be really tender and shred easily. Let it stand in the juices for about 30 more minutes before serving.

  • Let stand in the juices for about 30 minutes more. I chose to serve this with mashed potatoes (cut the potatoes into chunks, boiled them until tender, drained them, mixed in the KitchenAid with warm milk and butter).

Verdict:
Always a winner! From now on, I’m going to skip the searing. It’s a messy extra step that I can really live without in the mornings before work.

4 responses to “Slow Cooker Pot Roast

  1. I’ve read that turnips get bitter when cooked for long periods of time – did you have any issues with that? I made a similar slow cooker dish (with ostridge!) but I blanched the turnips & added them at the end to warm. They were so soft & buttery tasting, but I would have rather cooked everything together – but again, I was worried about those oh-so-fresh turnips being ruined.

  2. Actually, these got really sweet and were much less bitter than when I roast them.

    I’d love to see this ostrich recipe!

  3. I had a TON of herbs in my garden & my greenling box (and ostrich in the freezer) when I ran across this recipe. I changed it completely – added cannellini beans & greens & other fresh stuff, but it was fun to pull out the slow cooker again.
    http://reciperhapsody.wordpress.com/2009/05/26/emu-stew/

  4. But flavor is much better when you brown/sear the meet thoroughly over med-high heat first! Messy? a little, but worth it. Especially if you use bacon fat (from good quality no-nitrite bacon) in place of some or all of the olive oil. And always use a good cut of chuck roast – rump or other cheaper cuts come out pretty dry and tasteless. My slow-cooker runs at too high a temperature so I get much better results using a pot or dutch oven in the oven at 325 for 30 minutes then 275 for 3-4 hours. Glad your results were good with turnips – I will give it a try as I still try to find a way to make them edible. ):-P

Leave a Reply

