Local Box Meal Plan: Jan. 18-22

Seems like despite the deep freeze of 2010, Texas farmers are churning out lots of yummy produce! I’m really excited about this cauliflower. I hope it comes in neon colors, like the ones I’ve seen recently at the Pearl Farmer’s Market! What can I say? I’m easily amused.

This week, we’re getting cauliflower or broccoli from Home Sweet Farm; green shallots from Acadian; green garlic from Naegelin or Green Gate Farm; a salad kit from My Father’s Farm; spinach from Oak Hill; red potatoes, garlic and mustard greens or kale from Naegelin; citrus from G&S Groves; a slicing tomato from Village Farms; and green or red leaf lettuce from Bluebonnet.

So this week, I’m making:

Snacks:

  • Winter bruschetta with white beans, tomato, garlic and green shallots

Dinner:

  • A steakhouse dinner with Caesar salad, creamed spinach and mashed potatoes with green garlic
  • Mustard green/kale gratin

Side Dish:

  • Cauliflower puree (recipe to come from my brand new Top Chef Quickfire cookbook — a gift from my wonderful husband!)

Dessert:

Leave a Reply

