Spinach Pasta

I have awesome friends. They figured out exactly what I wanted for my birthday — a kitchen scale!

Yes, folks, I’m embarrassed to admit it, but I didn’t own a kitchen scale up until a week and a half ago. And to be honest, I have no idea how I lasted that long. Now I’m trying to find excuses to break it out at every meal. My only problem is that most of my recipes are measured in cups and teaspoons, rather than pounds and grams. So I took the opportunity to find a recipe that utilized both my new kitchen scale and a huge, beautiful bag of spinach.

IMG_1951_edit

I’m not sure if it was the scale, the freshness of the spinach, or the fact that fresh pasta is plain old awesome, but this pasta was the best I’ve ever tasted. THE BEST. The best. It wasn’t heavy at all, despite the use of almost 7(!) eggs. It was tasty and flavorful, and the color (the color!) was a beautiful neon green with bright green specks of spinach running throughout each piece. And it only took an hour or so, making it do-able on a weeknight. I tossed the pasta with good olive oil (do I sound like Ina Garten yet?) and pecorino romano, as I didn’t want a sauce to compete with the pasta (yes, that’s how good it is).

If you’re thinking of wising up like I did and getting a scale for your kitchen, mine is the Cuisinart WeighMate digital scale. It’s got a digital (duh) display that converts between pounds and grams, a tare button so you can put measure all ingredients in the same bowl, and touchpad buttons so you don’t have to worry about getting flour particles in the mechanics. It’s also glass, so it looks pretty. Can’t get much better than that! And in the interest of full disclosure, Cuisinart is not paying me for this endorsement, but I would definitely try some products if you would like to send me any (hint, hint).

From Emeril Lagasse

Ingredients:

  • 5 oz. spinach
  • 1 lb. all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1 large egg, plus 6 egg yolks
  • 1 Tbsp. extra-virgin olive oil

Directions:

  • Blanch the spinach by dunking it in well-salted boiling water for 30 seconds, then immediately removing it to an ice bath. Drain and set in the bowl of a food processor.
  • Add the flour and salt to the spinach in the bowl of a food processor and pulse a few times, then turn the food processor on and add the eggs and olive oil through the feed tube. Keep the food processor running until the mixture resembles coarse, wet cornmeal (~2 minutes).
  • Divide the dough into 4 balls and work the pasta into the desired shape with a pasta machine according to the manufacturer’s instructions (I use the pasta attachment for the KitchenAid mixer). Boil for ~3 minutes, then serve.
Leave a Reply

