Beet and Arugula Salad with Goat Cheese

This is one of my favorite winter salads. The peppery arugula with the sweet beets and tangy goat cheese really is perfect, and when dressed with balsamic vinaigrette, I can’t get enough! If I’m in a hurry, I cut the beets into chunks and steam them, but roasting them the night before (if I remember) is delish as well.

IMG_1974_edit

The method is simple: toss some cooked, chilled beets and arugula with a dressing (I like a simple balsamic vinaigrette with plenty of salt and pepper) and top with chunked goat cheese. Since it doesn’t require a huge amount of goat cheese, I like to go to the cheese counter and get them to slice me a small piece of a really good one, like Humboldt Fog. They’re always happy to oblige.

When I take these salads to work for lunch, I’ll dress the arugula with some balsamic vinaigrette at home and store the arugula, beets and goat cheese in separate containers. When it’s time for lunch, it’s a snap to assemble and it’s as fresh as possible.

If you’ve got leftover asparagus or green beans, they’re wonderful in here also.

Leave a Reply

