Lentil Dal with Cauliflower and Collards

I made this a few weeks ago after an Indian craving struck. It made so much that I froze a bunch and am still eating it now!

IMG_1960_edit

This dal was incredibly hearty and warm, and the scents coming from my kitchen while this was cooking were fantastic. I felt like I walked into an Indian restaurant as it was cooking! Greenling delivered some beautiful baby collards and cauliflower, and I picked up a few late-season (or is it early-season?) tomatoes at the farmer’s market. I imagine that this recipe can be changed to use whatever produce you have on hand — turnips for the cauliflower, chard for the collards, etc.

The recipe notes not to add any additional water, but I needed to add ~3/4 c. to allow the lentils to cook through. It also made it a bit “saucier,” which I like (more to scoop with some flatbread!). Also, next time, I won’t stir the yogurt into the mixture at the end of cooking. It didn’t exactly curdle, but it was a weird texture. I preferred adding a dollop of yogurt on top of the dal right before serving.

From Nooschi

Ingredients:

  • Canola oil
  • 1 small onion, finely chopped
  • 3 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 1 tsp. fresh ginger, minced
  • 4 tomatoes, chopped (including the seeds and juice)
  • 2/3 c. cilantro, finely chopped, separated
  • 3 bay leaves
  • 1 tsp. turmeric
  • 1 Tbsp. curry powder
  • Cayenne pepper, to taste
  • 1 c. red lentils (I couldn’t find red lentils, so I used brown lentils)
  • ~4 c. cauliflower florets from 1 medium head
  • 2 Tbsp. lowfat plain yogurt (see note above)
  • Salt and pepper, to taste

Directions:

  • Saute the garlic, ginger, and onion in canola oil in a pot or large saute pan until the onions are translucent.
  • Add the tomatoes, 1/2 c. cilantro, the bay leaves, and all of the spices (including salt and pepper) into the pot, and cook until the tomatoes are crushed (~10 minutes).
  • Reduce the heat to simmer, then add the lentils to the tomatoes, and cook with the lid on for 20 minutes. At this point, I added ~1/2 c. water.
  • Add the cauliflower and cook with the lid on for 25 minutes, or until the cauliflower is tender. I added an additional 1/4 c. water with the cauliflower.
  • Adjust seasonings to taste, then top with the remaining cilantro and yogurt. Remove the bay leaves prior to serving.

IMG_1957_edit

Leave a Reply

