Smoky Chickpea Soup

I think I have the only toddler in the US who refuses to eat chicken nuggets. An entire pint of strawberries in one sitting? No problem (and so much for that pie I was going to make). But a toddler finger-food staple? Just one bite? Well, that’s just ridiculous.

I’d never even made them at home until last night, when I came across a recipe for chicken nuggets breaded with almond meal instead of breadcrumbs that sounded interesting. They tasted just like regular chicken nuggets, but it was a no-go.

Tonight we resorted to bribery. It went like this:

Us: “Ryan, if you eat your chicken you can have some cake!”
Ryan: “No!”

Us: “Ryan, if you eat your chicken you can have your orange!”
Ryan: “No!”

And so on. It did not work. So tomorrow night, I’m going to serve this soup and hope for better results. If kiddie-style chicken’s not cutting it, we’ll just go with a more adult chicken dish and see what happens.

There’s much to love about this soup. Inspired by several Greenling veggies I needed to use, it’s stuffed with vegetables, chickpeas, and chicken, and gets a wonderful smoky flavor from smoked paprika. It also comes together quickly on a weeknight. It would taste great without the chicken and with vegetable broth for a vegetarian version.

Smoky Chickpea Soup

2 tbsp olive oil
2 cloves garlic, chopped (about 1 tsp)
1 bunch spring onion bulbs, thinly sliced (reserve the tops for garnish)
1 bunch bok choy, chopped
2 cups finely chopped kale
1 cup mushrooms, sliced
3 cooked chicken breasts, chopped (about 3-4 cups)
1 15-oz can chickpeas
1 15-oz can fire-roasted tomatoes*
2 cups chicken broth
2 tsp smoked paprika
Salt and pepper to taste

*ETA: I just got a question about this so I wanted to clarify — you don’t have to actually roast canned tomatoes yourself (unless you are so inclined). Muir Glen is a popular brand of canned organic fire-roasted tomatoes and the only brand I knew of until last weekend, when I spotted an HEB version that’s cheaper. It’s not organic, but it’s a choice. Anyway, on to the recipe.

Instructions

Heat olive oil over medium-high heat in a Dutch oven. Add onions and garlic and cook about 5 minutes, until onions soften. Add remaining ingredients, seasoning with salt and pepper to taste, and bring to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer for 15 minutes, until greens or softened. Garnish with chopped spring onion tops. Serve with crusty bread to soak up the rich broth.

2 responses to “Smoky Chickpea Soup

  1. This looks fantastic!! I’m missing a few of those ingredients (the fire-roasted tomatoes, in particular), but I can’t wait to try this one. I don’t have anything quite as fancy as a dutch oven, so I’m hoping my plain old soup pot will do the trick. Thanks for the post!!

  2. Let me know what you think! Your soup pot will be absolutely fine. 🙂 My stockpot is huge, so I used the Dutch oven because it’s a bit smaller and more the size I needed to make this.

Leave a Reply

