Sorrel-Parsley Pesto

Did you, like me, get a large bunch of sorrel instead of plums last week? Did you taste it and figure it was too strong to stand on its own as a salad green, but too tender to braise like you would other leafy greens?

Well, I thought all that too, and then did what I like to do with strong-flavored greens that I possess in large quantities: I made a pesto. I tossed it with boiled potatoes and served it as a side to grilled chicken, but it would be great on chicken or pork, or tossed with some refrigerated chicken ravioli.

Sorrel-Parsley Pesto (adapted from Two Small Farms)

2 cups coarsely chopped fresh sorrel, ribs removed
1/2 cup packed fresh parsley leaves
2 garlic cloves, roughly chopped (or 1 elephant garlic clove)
1/2 cup grated parmesan
1/3 cup pine nuts
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 tsp black pepper
1/3 cup olive oil

Combine all ingredients in a food processor or blender and blend until smooth.

3 responses to “Sorrel-Parsley Pesto

  1. The pesto sounds healthy and yummy! I can’t wait to try it on my homemade pasta.

  2. Looks good 🙂 I have never seen or eaten sorrel before, but Im going to have to try it out!

    PS: Is that the new camera? Great pic 😀

  3. It is! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

