Julia’s Green Beans

I picked up Julia Child’s fantastic Mastering the Art of French Cooking at the library last weekend, and it didn’t take long for me to realize that I needed my own copy. I slightly adapted this simple, delicious recipe from the aptly named “Vegetables” chapter. Now, normally I would not think myself so talented as to mess with one of Julia’s recipes, but the original uses 3 lbs of beans (I was trying to stick with one) and eight tablespoons of butter, which is a little rich for me. I went down to 1 lb of beans and 1 tbsp of butter, but feel free to up the amount to your taste.

Julia’s Green Beans

1 lb fresh green beans, trimmed
1 tsp salt
1/4 tsp black pepper
1 tbsp butter
3 tsp lemon juice
3 tbsp chopped parsley

Bring a large pot of water to a boil. Add green beans, turn down heat slightly, and boil about 9 minutes, until tender. Drain immediately.

Warm a large saucepan over medium-high heat. Add beans and stir for a minute, to dry up any extra water. Add butter, salt, pepper, and juice, and stir until butter is melted and everything is well combined. Remove from heat and sprinkle with parsley.

One response to “Julia’s Green Beans

  1. It looks fresh and delicious. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

