Local Box Meal Plan: Aug. 16-20

Sorry for the late post this week. I was out of town attending a funeral yesterday. Anyway, this week, we are getting:

Lentil Sprouts – Groovy Greens
Red Potatoes – Naegelin
Yellow Onions – Naegelin
Crimini Mushrooms – Kitchen Pride
Summer Squash – Texas Natural
Mustard Greens – Texas Natural
Red Radishes – My Father’s Farm
Eggplant – Acadian
Assorted Peppers – Various
Okra – Acadian
Fresh Peas – Just Peachy

So, I am making:

Stir-fry with onions, squash, peppers, and chicken (I’m using frozen pre-cooked chicken breast strips), served over brown rice

Mustard greens with red potatoes

Eggplant bharta with peas – We probably won’t get green peas like the recipe calls for, but any kind of pea will work.

Fried okra – I don’t eat a lot of fried food, but this really is the best way to cook okra. Paula Deen knows her Southern comfort food, so you can trust this recipe. I usually don’t bother making her house seasoning – use whatever seasoning mix is your favorite. I’m partial to Tony Cachere’s Creole Seasoning. There are usually several containers of this floating around my pantry.

I’m just using the sprouts and radishes in this week’s salads. It might also be good to sprinkle them over your stir-fry to add a nice crunch.

Leave a Reply

