Creamy Mushroom Stroganoff

Creamy mushroom stroganoff is one of my favorite comfort foods. Using just a bit of butter, reduced-fat sour cream, and whole wheat fusilli (corkscrew pasta) makes this one of the healthier versions you’ll find. The fusilli is kind of unusual, but it holds onto the thick sauce really well.

I came across an online version the other day that I wanted to try until I saw that it was missing two ingredients that I consider key to a good stroganoff: dijon mustard and beef broth. I liked, however, the addition of a little white wine, so I incorporated that into my version. I love the rich flavor beef broth gives the stroganoff, but if you’re a vegetarian, vegetable broth would work fine as well.

Creamy Mushroom Stroganoff

1 tbsp butter
4 garlic cloves, chopped
1 onion, chopped
1 lb white mushrooms, sliced
2 cups beef broth
1/2 cup white wine
1 heaping tbsp dijon mustard
8 oz reduced-fat sour cream
1 tbsp flour
Salt and pepper to taste
8 oz cooked whole wheat fusilli pasta (4 oz dry)

Melt butter in a heavy large saucepan over medium-high heat. Add garlic and saute 30 seconds. Add onion and saute another 2 minutes or so, until it starts to soften. Add mushrooms and broth and bring to a boil. Reduce heat a little and cook about 10-15 minutes, until the broth has reduced quite a bit. Add wine, mustard, and sour cream and stir to combine. Add flour and stir often for another 2-3 minutes, until mixture is thick. Add fusilli and stir to combine. Season with salt and pepper and serve.

Makes two large servings.

2 responses to “Creamy Mushroom Stroganoff

  1. Love that bowl! I think my parents own a similar (if not the same) set from Target. Someday when I’m rich and have nothing better to spend my money on (like bills), I’m definitely going to invest in them!

    And don’t get me wrong, I didn’t miss the recipe. I actually have the perfect mushrooms for this and can’t wait to try it!

  2. That bowl cost $3 at HEB Plus – no joke! They always have a ton of cute, cheap dinnerware, so I pick up a piece or two every now and then.

Leave a Reply

