What else do you do to be Green?

Send us pictures or stories of what you’re doing to better the planet and we’ll give you $5 off and highlight you on our website!

4 responses to “What else do you do to be Green?

  1. Here is a list of things we do to be green in our house:
    homemade natural cleaning products
    homemade natural laundry soap
    homemade dishwasher detergent
    homemade natural cloth diaper laundry “soap”
    we use cloth diapers our twins
    we hang the cloth diapers on a line to dry
    homemade natural eczema remedy for 4 year old
    homemade natural diaper rash ointment for 1 year old twins
    we purchase raw milk from a local farmer
    we purchase grass fed beef from a local farmer
    we purchase bulk honey from a local source
    we are members at wheatsville coop in order to buy more local goods
    we have a compost pile
    we have a worm bin for vermicompost
    we use reusable grocery bags
    we recycle everything possible, even items that require us to make a special trip downtown to the recycling center
    when we purchased a new washer/dryer set last year, water efficiency was at the top of our priority list
    we use energy efficient light bulbs
    we re-purpose small cardboard boxes as drawer organizers
    we drive the fuel efficient car (scion xb) as often as possible, even on trips to houston and love it that three car seats fit just fine in the back seat.

    plans for this year:
    homemade natural hand soap
    homemade natural dish soap
    homemade natural shampoo bars
    homemade natural hair products like conditioner

    all of the ingredients i use in my homemade body care products are purchased locally.

    there may be a few other things but this seems like a good starter list.

  2. Here are a few things I just recently started too to increase my Green 🙂

    I have been using vegetable/bread saver bags now to cut down on the amount of waste I throw away (and it is saving money!)

    I recently started planting some my own vegetables and herbs, right on my apartment balcony; so far they are sprouting up nicely!

    I encourage my friends to eat local and organic foods frequently…maybe it will work one day.

    I try to reuse anything that can possibly be reused.

    Like I said, these are just a few things I have done more lately to go along with everything else I already do. One step at a time!

  3. We try to be as green as we know how and can afford to be – and are constantly learning more! Our kids bring home tips from school, and we all read about how to be more green. Right now we have several things going in our house in our effort to be green:

    My husband, 8 year old and 6 year old built a square foot garden box that we have outside of our (rented) duplex. We are growing a variety of vegetables and herbs in the box, using our own compost mixed with soil. My 6 year old goes out of his way to make sure he composts everything compostable!

    The older kids (and my husband) built a bird feeder and a bird house, and are in the process of building a bat house.

    Our toddler (17 months old) knows the difference between “put this in the recycling” and “put this in the trash” and does whichever he’s asked to. (He also takes items out of the recycling and walks them around the house – I think to see if they might be useful or really ought to have been disposed of, or possibly it’s just fun!)

    All cardboard packaging goes straight to my children’s art/craft reuse bin or cabinet, and our (appropriate) paper gets shredded for the guinea pigs, to supplement their bedding. Other paper gets reused for art/crafts or recycled. I check with my kids on anything that I might want to toss that could possibly be art/craft appropriate.

    If there was a hybrid minivan sold in the US, we’d be driving it. We had to give up our Prius when we realized 3 kids across in the back seat just wasn’t working. 😦

    There are other things we do – such as buying recycled paper, buying organic when we can – but these are some of the things we do that involve our children. They understand the importance of protecting the environment/taking care of our planet, and don’t understand the concept of a world where people don’t recycle. Much better than when I grew up!!!

  4. Rachel Woodward

    I’ve been veggie gardening in my own backyard for several years, and last year I added some hens. I no longer buy eggs at all, and I have happy, happy girls who eat my food scraps and help fertilize my garden.
    A few years ago, I totally stopped buying paper towels and harsh cleaning agents. Now I clean using vinegar and baking soda and re-usuable cloths and rags. I only purchase recycled Toilet paper.
    This year, I’m starting a veggie garden at the school where I teach. I’ll be working with a group of elementary students to learn about nutrition and where their food comes from. Everything we’ve received to build the gardens has come from donations; people donating things that were laying around their homes not being used (yay craigslist!), and our dirt is organic compost. We will be growing organically.

Leave a Reply

