Roasted Radishes and Carrots with Citrus and Cilantro

The idea of roasting radishes sounds weird, I know. I first came across the concept about this time last year, when I was getting a lot of radishes from Greenling and wasn’t sure what to do with them. I don’t really like them raw – I find many of them to be too bitter and to harbor an unpleasant, biting heat.

That all changed when I roasted my first radish. Most of the bitterness goes away, leaving you with a mild, tender root veggie that adapts well to many flavors and seasonings. Mason and I had picked up some NY strip steaks for dinner tonight, and when I saw the watermelon radishes and purple carrots in my box, I knew what I wanted to do for a side dish.

For this preparation, you sear the radishes and carrots over medium-high heat on the stovetop before putting them in the oven to finish cooking. The stovetop searing does two things: first, it browns the veggies nicely. Second, it reduces the amount of time they have to cook in the oven. Once they’re fork-tender, you season them with a squeeze of tangerine juice and some cilantro and green onion. Even a committed radish-hater will like this one.

Roasted Radishes and Carrots with Citrus and Cilantro

4 large radishes
1 small bunch baby carrots, trimmed (I left most of them whole, and just halved a really large one)
Salt and pepper to taste
2 tbsp olive oil
1 tangerine, halved
Small handful cilantro, chopped
1 green onion (or green garlic or green shallot) shoot, chopped

Preheat oven to 425. In a small cast-iron skillet or Dutch oven, heat oil over medium-high heat. Add veggies and salt and pepper and cook 6-7 minutes, until they start to brown. Remove from heat, place in oven, and cook 20 minutes, until you can stab them easily with a fork.

Remove from oven. Squeeze in the juice from 1 tangerine, and add cilantro and green onion. Stir to coat, and serve immediately. Makes two servings.

4 responses to “Roasted Radishes and Carrots with Citrus and Cilantro

  1. Mmm! Cooked radishes remind me of turnips, too.

  2. Pingback: Local Box Meal Plan: Dec. 6-10 | A Greenling Blog

  3. Pingback: Local Box Meal Plan: May 2-6 | A Greenling Blog

Leave a Reply

