Local Box Meal Plan: Dec. 6-10

Sorry for the delay in posting this, everyone. Did y’all see the size of the persimmons coming this week? Yum! Here’s this week’s box contents and video:

Butternut squash – Gundermann
Persimmons – Oasis Gardens
Salad mix – My Father’s Farm
Assorted peppers – Lundgren
Oriental turnips – Acadian
Meyer lemons – G&S Groves
Collard greens – My Father’s Farm
Sweet potatoes – Gundermann
French breakfast radishes – Acadian

I will be making:

Lemon bars – The video mentioned making lemon bars with our Meyer lemons, and I suddenly couldn’t imagine doing anything else with them.

Persimmon squash pie – You can freeze extra squash puree to use in soups and other recipes later.

Honey-roasted root vegetables – I’ve made this several times, and I never get tired of it. Use a combo of radishes, sweet potatoes, and turnips here. (Yes, you can roast radishes. I posted about it here last week.) Leftovers of these would be a great addition to salads made with your salad mix.

Cajun chicken with collard greens – Use whatever sweet peppers you get if you don’t get a red pepper. I’d add more than one, too.

Leave a Reply

