Local Box Meal Plan: Jan. 17-21

I’ll post the video as soon as I have it. Anywho, I’m super excited about getting local fennel this week. It has a mild, licorice-y flavor that you’ll probably like even if you aren’t a fan of licorice (like me). Here’s the full list:

• Tangerines – Orange Blossom
• Fennel – Oak Hill Farms
• Red Beets – Naegelin
• Various Lettuce – Acadian
• Arugula – Acadian
• Red Swiss Chard – Acadian
• French Breakfast Radish – Acadian
• Apples – Apple Country
• Turnips – Naegelin
• Meyer Lemons – G&S

Shrimp and sausage cioppino – A cioppino (cho-PEE-no) is an Italian seafood stew. This is currently my favorite fennel recipe, and it uses the whole bulb to boot. I think I’m going to add arugula the next time I make it.

Butter-poached breakfast radishes – Looks like an
unusual way to prepare French breakfast radishes as a side dish. I’m not sure where one finds raspberry wine vinegar, but I am sure that a few dashes of something like apple cider vinegar will suffice.

Turnips with chard – A fast, easy side dish.

Lemon and garlic-roasted beets – Another side dish.

I think I’m going to mix the lettuce with sliced apples and tangerine sections for an easy side salad.

2 responses to “Local Box Meal Plan: Jan. 17-21

  1. that roasted beet recipe sounds really good!

  2. They’re really good chilled in a salad.

Leave a Reply

