Black-Pepper Pork Banh Mi

I don’t usually think about eating sandwiches in the winter. Sandwiches usually = light, cool summer fare, at least in my mind. But when I was creating my weekly menu plan a few weeks ago, I came across a recipe for pickled daikon radishes and carrots (I’d just gotten a bunch of each in my Greenling box). At the end it said “Remove vegetables from liquid before using in banh mi.”

I’d never heard of banh mi before and did some googling. Turns out it’s a Vietnamese sandwich that has many, many variations, and many, many fans. There are entire websites devoted to cataloging the different types of banh mi you can make. Pickled daikon radishes and carrots are a common condiment, though, no matter which iteration you go with. So is cilantro, which I love. Mayonnaise is a typical spread, but since I think it’s disgusting (Mayo is Satan’s condiment. It’s true.) I ate my sandwich dry. The fillings were delicious enough without it. The site I link to below has many different meats and condiments you can use to create your own banh mi.

Black-Pepper Pork Banh Mi (adapted from Banh Mi Battle)

Pork:
1 lb pork tenderloin, thinly sliced
2 cloves crushed garlic
2 tbsp fish sauce
2 tsp sugar
1-2 tablespoons freshly ground black pepper
2 tbsp finely chopped shallots or onion
1/4 cup vegetable oil
1 tsp sesame seed oil

6 bollilos (Mexican sandwich rolls) or other sandwich roll

Condiments:
Pickled daikon radishes and carrots
Cilantro sprigs
Thinly sliced cucumber
Thinly sliced red onion
Mayonnaise (optional)

For the pork, combine all ingredients in a zip-lock bag and let the pork marinate for at least an hour. Heat a skillet over medium-high heat and add pork and marinade. Cook 3-4 minutes per side, until pork is cooked through.

To assemble the sandwiches, cut a slit lengthwise into each bollilo. Pull out some of the bread from the inside (this gives you more room for fillings). Fill with pork and condiments of your choice.

– Stephanie

5 responses to “Black-Pepper Pork Banh Mi

  1. Bite Mi, over at 2002 Guadalupe (near MLK and Guadalupe) is a great place for banh mi!

  2. Ooh, good to know! I’m going to have to hit it up soon.

  3. I saw your post yesterday and snagged some pickled daikon and carrots at a food swap from Megan over at Stetted.com. Thanks for the idea!

  4. Pingback: Meal Plan 2/2-2/8 | The Austin Gastronomist

  5. Pingback: Meal Plan 2/2-2/8 | austingastronomist.com

Leave a Reply

