Local Box Meal Plan: Jan 31-Feb 4

I’m loving the abundance of avocados we’ve gotten lately. What’s your favorite winter veggie?

Here’s the complete list for this week.

Beets/Fennel/Kohlrabi – Naegelin
Green Cabbage – Naegelin
Green Leaf Lettuce – Acadian
Sweet Potatoes – Gundermann
Swiss Chard – My Father’s Farm
Dinosaur Kale/Curly Kale – Texas Natural
Cilantro – Fruitful Farms
Green Onions – Naegelin
Avocados – G&S
Grapefruit or Navel Oranges – G&S

I am making:

Green monster smoothies – Lately I’ve been making these for breakfast using raw chard, kale, or spinach. I know a smoothie with raw greens may sound gross. And I won’t lie – they are not pretty. I put mine in an opaque cup. But I tell you, they taste really, really good and are good for you. My basic recipe calls for 2 cups raw greens, 1 cup frozen fruit, 1/2 a banana, 1 cup of unsweetened vanilla almond milk, and a handful of ice. Blend for a few minutes until everything is smooth. I might try throwing some citrus in this week instead of the frozen fruit. You can also experiment with different liquids, like regular milk or hemp milk. Don’t knock the green monster till you try it.

Curried sweet potato salad with cilantro – This recipe is a little fussy for my taste (I’m not carefully layering a salad that I’m just going to scoop onto a plate a minute later), but the elements are solid. I’ll probably sub olive oil for the mayo and use green onions instead of red.

Roasted beets, fennel, or kohlrabi – These guys all taste pretty different so I don’t want to give you complicated recipes using them when you can’t easily substitute for the one you get. Instead, I’m linking to different recipes for each one. I usually roast up a bunch of veggies like this on Sunday and use in salads during the week with our lettuce and cabbage. Oh, and if you haven’t had kohlrabi, it tastes a little like broccoli, but without the tiny florets that stick in your teeth. Yum.

Spicy shrimp with citrus avocado sauce – Use whatever citrus you get.

Leave a Reply

