Grapefruit Chicken Piccata

I know grapefruit piccata sounds a little odd, but I kind of came about this recipe by accident. It turned out to be really yummy though, so here we are. See, I didn’t read my Greenling box insert this week, and saw what I thought were two of the biggest Meyer lemons ever. They had light yellow flesh and were about the size of small oranges. I needed something to make for lunch and had been eyeing this recipe from the latest Cooking Light, so I began to get everything ready to cook.

It wasn’t until I cut into one of the “lemons” that I realized it was, in fact, a grapefruit. Oops. Well, I was hungry, so I sallied forth, grapefruit and all. I like grapefruit and figured it couldn’t be that bad. And it was more than “not that bad” – it was really, really good. This recipe is pretty basic, and the combo of buttery chicken and tart citrus is heavenly.

One thing – the instructions call for pounding the chicken breasts into thin cutlets. You can skip this part if you wish, but here’s why I think you shouldn’t:

1. Pounding meat is a great way to vent frustration.
2. Your chicken will cook evenly if it’s the same thickness all over.
3. It also cooks much faster this way.

And you don’t have to mess with trying to keep the chicken between two pieces of plastic wrap. One day it occurred to me that it was much less messy to just stick the chicken inside of a gallon zip-lock bag while I pounded it. Easy peasy.

Grapefruit Chicken Piccata (adapted from Cooking Light)

4 skinless, boneless chicken breasts
1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
1/2 cup all-purpose flour
2 tablespoons unsalted butter, divided
1/3 cup sauvignon blanc or other crisp, tart white wine (I buy those mini picnic bottles of wine to use for cooking)
1/2 cup fat-free, lower-sodium chicken broth
1/3 cup fresh grapefruit juice (about 1 grapefruit)
2 tablespoons capers, rinsed and drained

1. Place each chicken breast inside of a gallon zip-lock bag; pound each cutlet to 1/4-inch thickness using a meat mallet or small heavy skillet. Sprinkle cutlets evenly with salt and pepper. Place flour in a shallow dish; dredge cutlets in flour.

2. Melt 1 tablespoon butter in a large skillet over medium-high heat. Add 2 cutlets to pan, and sauté 2 minutes. Turn cutlets over; sauté for 1 minute. Remove the cutlets from pan. Repeat the procedure with remaining 1 tablespoon butter and 2 cutlets.

Add wine to pan, and bring to a boil, scraping pan to loosen browned bits. Cook for 1 minute or until liquid almost evaporates. Stir in chicken broth; bring to a boil. Cook until broth mixture is reduced to 2 tablespoons (about 4 minutes). Stir in juice and capers. Serve over chicken.

Leave a Reply

