Kohlrabi with Honey Butter

Due to a camera malfunction I don’t have a pic of this tasty recipe (insert sad face), but when I came across the above image on the fantastic Simply Recipes, I had to post it. I was actually planning on doing my own kohlrabi-with-faces pic, but then I found this one. It also gives me an excuse to point you towards the Simply Recipes kohlrabi page, which has several recipes featuring our favorite little alien-like veggie, in case you need ideas.

Anywho, back to the recipe. Kohlrabi tastes kind of like broccoli, and I usually just roast it up and serve as a side dish. However, with spring coming on, this is about the time of year when I start getting tired of heating up the kitchen with the oven and look for more ways to cook veggies like this on the stovetop. This recipe fits the bill, and uses up some of the lemons and carrots we’ve gotten to boot. I halved the amount from the original, but otherwise kept it the same. This makes a great side dish, and you could toss the leftovers in a salad later.

Kohlrabi with Honey Butter (adapted from cooks.com)

3-4 kohlrabis (about 1 lb.), peeled & diced
1 carrot, diced
1 cup chicken broth
1 tbsp chopped parsley
Zest from 1 lemon
Juice from one lemon
1 tbsp honey
Salt and pepper to taste
1 tbsp butter

In a medium saucepan, heat broth to a simmer. Add kohlrabi and carrots and cook, covered, for 6 to 8 minutes or until crisp-tender. Add parsley, lemon peel, lemon juice, honey, pepper and butter. Toss lightly and serve.

– Stephanie

Leave a Reply

