Pineapple Collards

Lately I’ve been re-reading two of my top three books, To Kill a Mockingbird and Gone With the Wind. As they are both set in the deep South, there are many mentions of collards in them, which are usually bathed in savory pot liquor and slowly cooked with some sort of smoky meat. While this is all good, as a Southerner I’m a little ashamed to admit that I’m not the biggest fan of collards. They’re ok, but I think the biggest issue right now is that spring is upon us and I’m a little tired of the greens that get us through winter.

This recipe, though, made me rethink my collard boredom. It bridges winter and spring/summer with the use of sweet pineapple, and has a great Asian flavor that is unlike any collard recipe I’ve come across. Indeed, this may be my favorite way to prepare them. It’s super fast and only calls for a few ingredients. I’m thinking chopped citrus (maybe oranges) would be a great substitute for the pineapple, and you can use any hearty green in place of the collards, if you like.

Pineapple Collards (adapted from Yummly)

1 tbsp olive oil
1 lb collards or other hearty greens, stems removed and roughly chopped
3/4 cup chopped pineapple
1/4 tsp red pepper flakes
2 tsp minced ginger
6 garlic cloves, chopped
1/4 tsp salt
1 tsp sesame oil

Heat olive oil over medium heat. Add ginger, garlic, and red pepper flakes and cook for 2 minutes, stirring often. Add pineapple, collards, and salt and cook for 10 minutes, stirring often. Remove from heat and drizzle with sesame oil. Serve immediately.

– Stephanie

One response to “Pineapple Collards

  1. The recipe (before being posted on Yummly) originally came from “Appetite for Reduction,” by Isa Chandra Moskowitz. Great book, check it out! Meanwhile, can’t wait to try this recipe to get my boyfriend to eat more greens. 😉 Thanks!

Leave a Reply

