Local Box Meal Plan: April 11-15

Are you excited about the mint plant you’re getting this week? It’ll do great planted in a flower bed or garden, but be warned that it can be invasive. A good solution is to plant it in a large pot.

Sugar Snap Peas – Animal Farm
Red Chard – Acadian Family Farm
Baby Summer Squash – Fruitful Farm
Spinach – Tecolote Farm
Heirloom Green Garlic – Green Gate Farms
Mint Plant – My Father’s Farm
Escarole – Tecolote Farm
Mango – G&S Groves
Kale – Texas Natural
Oranges – G&S Groves

Orange-mango chicken – Juice your oranges to make the tasty sauce for this chicken.

Ribollita – This soup is a favorite of mine, not only because it’s good but because it’s versatile. Use your kale and chard here, and toss in diced summer squash to replace the carrots. I’m leaving out the olives, but if you’re an olive lover I’m sure they’ll be great in this recipe.

Sauteed snap peas and green garlic – A simple side dish.

Sausage, escarole, and white bean ragout – Use a mix of escarole and spinach (the spinach balances out the escarole’s somewhat bitter flavor), and use veggie sausage for a vegetarian version.

– Stephanie

4 responses to “Local Box Meal Plan: April 11-15

  1. Just wanted to update Greenling with our (Tecolote Farm’s) new web address: http://www.tecolotefarm.net/

    Thank you! Oh, and you might want it to read Tecolote Farm (rather than just Tecolote). Merci beau coup!

  2. Done! Thanks for the update, Katie.

  3. I just made the Ribollita and it is fantastic!! I did use the olives and I think the added a necessary salty bite. I’d probably sprinkle some Parmesan if I didn’t use the olives. And I have to thank you – I used to be a strict recipe follower and after 9 months of reading your blog, I think I’m getting the hang of this whole winging it thing!

  4. Aww, that’s great, Kelly! You always get more interesting results when you wing it. 🙂 And great idea on the Parmesan.

Leave a Reply

