Kale-Arugula Quiche with Smoked Gouda

quiche_t

I served this for Easter brunch today. There’s a lot I like about this quiche, like the smoky gouda complimenting the strong-flavored greens and how easy it was to make. And, like many things I cook, it’s very adaptable. You could use pretty much any combo of greens you happen to have on hand. At the last minute, I remembered that I had some mushrooms in the fridge and threw in some of those, with no ill effects. There are no fancy spices here, just salt and pepper, but the quiche has a lot of flavor thanks to the flavorful ingredients.

Kale-Arugula Quiche with Smoked Gouda

1 refrigerated pie crust, for a 9-inch pie
2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
1 leek, thinly sliced (white parts only)
6 oz kale and arugula mix, coarsely chopped (ribs removed from the kale)
Handful of white mushrooms, sliced (about 7 mushrooms)
1 cup skim milk
3/4 cup (3 ounces) grated smoked Gouda cheese
3/4 teaspoon salt
3 large eggs

Preheat oven to 350°.  Place pie crust into a 9-inch pie plate. Freeze 15 minutes. Bake at 350° for 25 minutes or until lightly browned. Cool.

Heat oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat. Add leeks; sauté 5 minutes or until tender. Add greens and mushrooms, sauté 7-8 minutes or until greens have wilted quite a bit and the mushrooms have started to shrink and brown.

Combine milk and remaining ingredients in a bowl; stir well with a whisk. Stir in greens mixture. Pour filling into crust. Bake at 350° for 35 minutes.

– Stephanie

6 responses to “Kale-Arugula Quiche with Smoked Gouda

  1. Hey there, Stephanie.

    This has nothing to do with the above recipe. 🙂 I am asking a general question to you because you are an expert on substitutions. I am going to make Tikki Masala for the first time, but I don’t have cardamom. Necessary purchase? Or should I substitute? Let me know your thoughts! Thank you.

  2. So, a real Indian will probably disagree with me, but I really don’t like cardamom and would therefore not use it. You could go without it, or sub something like curry powder. What other spices does the recipe call for? And how much cardamom does it call for?

  3. That is the challenge. The recipe calls for everything that you usually substitute for cardamom (except cinnamon – I have heard you can use that?). So I am thinking I will just skip it. My husband and I will NOT know the difference. Here is the spice combo:

    1 tablespoon ground coriander
    1 tablespoon ground cumin
    1 tablespoon ground black pepper
    1 tablespoon cayenne pepper
    1 tablespoon ground fennel seeds
    1 tablespoon ground ginger
    1 tablespoon ground cardamom
    1 tablespoon ground nutmeg
    1 teaspoon ground cloves

  4. Oh and there is curry too … just at a different point in the recipe.

  5. YES, in this case you can totally skip it. There is a lot going on there already.

  6. Thanks, Stephanie! There is a lot going on … isn’t there?

Leave a Reply

