Baked Parmesan Tomatoes

bakedtomatoes_t

A couple of weeks ago, I walked into an Anthropologie store for the first time. I always thought it was just full of clothes, but the first thing I spotted was a clearance table full of yummy housewares, like plates, placemats, vases, and the like. I was smitten. I’d been wanting to expand my collection of just those things so that I’d have a way to make my food photos more interesting.

I walked out with several items, including the fleur de lys plate you see above, and when I came across this recipe I knew it would be a perfect way to start the plate’s photographic career.

Anyway, we’re not here to talk about nice-looking food. Well, most of us aren’t. These tomatoes look good, but they’re also ridiculously easy to make and tasty to boot. Just a few farm-fresh tomatoes, Parmesan, and basil, and you have yourself a flavorful summer side dish. Or a main course, if you just can’t stop eating them.

Baked Parmesan Tomatoes (adapted from Eating Well)

4 tomatoes, halved horizontally
1/4 cup freshly grated Parmesan cheese
1 tablespoon chopped fresh basil
1/4 teaspoon salt
Freshly ground pepper, to taste
4 teaspoons extra-virgin olive oil

Preheat oven to 450. Place tomatoes cut-side up on a baking sheet. Top with Parmesan, basil, salt and pepper. Drizzle with oil and bake until the tomatoes are tender, about 15 minutes.

– Stephanie

Leave a Reply

