Local Box Meal Plan, August 8-12

This morning I woke up to the “tap, tap, tap,” of a snare drum behind my house. When I heard the steady beat, I looked outside and saw hundreds of high school students marching together under the sun. Ah, marching band season. Must be back-to-school time in Texas!

Our summer vacations may be almost over, but summer growing season is still going strong for local farms. Right now most of what’s coming out of the field is small because the extreme heat causes crops to mature early. However, summer veggies like zucchini and peppers are just hitting their stride, and we’ve got several weeks of those goodies yet to come. (More if we can get a little rain!)

Here’s what’s coming in the Local Box this week:

Here’s what I’m making with the bounty:

  • Thursday: Magenta spreen, also called “wild spinach” or lambsquarters, can be used interchangeably with spinach in almost any recipe. I’m using it in place of spinach in this spinach lasagna recipe from one of my favorite food writers, Mark Bittman.

  • Friday: Jalapeno vinaigrette looks like an easy way to dress up that hydroponic lettuce. We’ll have sliced peaches on the side.


  • Sunday: Texas caviar (a salad of summer peas, peppers and onions) and tortillas chips, with diced cantaloupe and peaches in a fruit salad.

  • Monday: Butternut squash and onions make excellent toppings for pizza, as in this recipe for butternut squash rosemary pizzas. I’ll cut prep time by using pita bread for individual crusts in place of fresh dough.

  • Tuesday: Leftover Awareness Night!
2 responses to “Local Box Meal Plan, August 8-12

  1. Hi,
    I am going to be moving to Dallas from California in about a month. I already know one of the things I’m going to miss so much is the amazing local produce from the farmers markets! I would like to join a CSA or something of that nature however I don’t know which one to join. There is only 2 of us so I don’t want to be wasteful. Any guidance would be much appreciated!!

    Thanks
    Christine

  2. Hey Christine,

    We are expanding to Dallas! We plan to be operating there after the first of the year. In the meantime they have a few farmer’s markets you can check out – check this link to find some http://www.localharvest.org/ and be sure to check out Yelp too.

    Hope this helps!

Leave a Reply

