Local Box Meal Plan 10/24 – 10/28

Is it just me, or does it feel like we’re stuck in the longest summer on record? I I’m going to the Fall Harvest Festival benefiting Urban Roots on Thursday, and I wonder if it’s fate that a cold front is scheduled to blow in that very day. Maybe Central Texas will finally get a break from summer weather!

I will definitely be taking a break from making dinner on Thursday night, since there will be free organic & local food and drinks at the Festival, plus carnival games for the kiddos.

Tickets to the Fall Harvest Fest are $30, and all the proceeds benefit Urban Roots, a wonderful local charity that helps improve the lives of young people through sustainable agriculture in Central Texas. Since Greenling is a presenting sponsor at the event, we have 3 pairs of tickets to give away. If you’d like to go on Thursday night, leave a comment on this post, and I’ll contact you via email to get you the tickets. I’ll give tickets to the first three folks who comment, and anyone can purchase additional tickets through Urban Roots’ website or at the door on Thursday night. Kids under 12 years of age get free admission and do not need a ticket.

All the fun on Thursday means I’m aiming for quick and easy dinners the rest of the week. All of the meals in this week’s menu go from Local Box to table in under 45 minutes! Here’s what we’re working with:

  • Asian Pears- Lightsey Farm
  • Apples – Top of Texas
  • Asian Greens Mix – My Father’s Farm
  • Butternut Squash – My Father’s Farm
  • Watermelon – Gundermann Acres
  • Grapefruit – G&S Groves
  • Assorted Bell Pepper – My Father’s Farm
  • Chard, Kale OR Bibb Lettuce – Fruitful Hill OR Comanche Oaks
  • Green Beans – The Farm Patch

Meal One: While I cook a little brown rice, I’ll stir-fry the green beans and bell peppers with a little garlic and onion. Cut up watermelon will make a quick and healthy dessert.

Meal Two: The watermelons coming in the Local Box are HUGE. There will be enough fruit to serve watermelon as a side dish for two nights, and to make this chilled Watermelon Soup with the rest. The soup takes 15 minutes to put together, but needs time to chill, so I will make it in the morning and let it hang out in the fridge while I’m at work. The ginger in the watermelon soup will pair nicely with this Asian Greens Salad with Ginger Dressing, another 15-minute recipe.

Meal Three: This meal’s a wildcard since I don’t know whether we’re getting kale, chard or lettuce. I have pasta and a jar of spaghetti sauce as my secret pantry weapons! If we get kale or chard, I’ll chop it and boil it with the pasta for instant spaghetti and greens. If we get lettuce, I’ll serve spaghetti sans greens, and make a side salad instead. Either way, we’ll finish off the watermelon for dessert.

Meal Four: By the time that cold front blows in, I’ll be craving something warm at night. This quinoa with roasted butternut squash, pears, apples and pecans will be just the thing. Depending on how sweet the grapefruit is, we’ll have it plain as a side dish, or juice it for a nightcap of greyhounds.

Leave a Reply

