Glazed Turnips

It’s the second week of January – have you given up your resolutions yet? I’m grateful that Greenling makes it so easy to keep up with the healthy eating portion of my goals. (Too bad they can’t exercise for me!) With all the fresh veggies we’re getting, it’s hard to not eat healthy!

Glazed turnips

I have to admit that last year I tried to cook with the turnips that came in our boxes, and whatever I did to them did not make me quick to return them to my mouth. But with the new year and my new determination to waste less food, I knew something had to be done.

I’ve done this glazing technique with carrots and tofu, so I thought it was worth trying out. The turnips stay just firm enough, and don’t get overly sweet – the presence of turnipness doesn’t get lost. Best of all, they take less than 30 minutes to prepare.

Try variations by adding other root vegetables, such as beets, and swapping out the sage for other fresh herbs like thyme, or even a sprinkling of dried herbs de Provence.

Glazed Turnips
serves 4

2 large turnips (about 1 1/2 pounds)
1 1/2 cup water
2 tablespoons butter, cut into pieces
1 tablespoon light brown sugar
Salt
1/2 tablespoon chopped fresh sage

Peel turnips and dice into 1-inch chunks. Arrange turnips in a single layer in a large nonstick pan over medium heat. Pour in water, and scatter butter and brown sugar over the top. Cover, and let cook for about 10 minutes, stirring occasionally.
Remove lid and continue to cook until liquid is evaporated, stirring to keep turnips from sticking. Once liquid is evaporated, salt to taste, and put turnips on serving dish. Sprinkle sage over the top and serve.

Leave a Reply

