Fig-Almond Cookies

figcookies_t

So, the almond part of these cookies came about by accident. I knocked a bottle of vanilla off of the counter and was left wondering if I should just omit the extra flavoring, or find a substitute. I spotted a bottle of almond extract in the pantry and figured I’d give it a go. Happily, it worked! If I’d thought about it at the time, I would have stirred in some sliced almonds too, but I did not, so we’ll save that addition for another day.

I don’t do a ton of baking, but when I was getting started with these cookies Ryan asked if he could help, and I was reminded how fun it is for kids to help out in the kitchen. Sure, the process usually goes slower and you usually end up with flour in your hair, but hey, it’s all in a day’s work. Some things he was able to do:

  • Unwrap butter and put it in the mixing bowl
  • Pour sugar and flour into the bowl
  • Pour the cracked egg into the bowl
  • Turn on the mixer
  • Count out how many eggs, cups of flour, sugar, etc. we needed

The hard part for kids (at least, for mine) is waiting for the cookies to bake. Luckily these guys only take 10 minutes. They come out soft and delicious, just how a cookie should be.

Fig-Almond Cookies (adapted from Seasonal Chef)

1 cup chopped fresh figs
1/3 cup water
1 cup room-temperature butter
1/2 cup sugar
1/2 cup brown sugar, firmly packed
1 egg
1 teaspoon almond extract
1 cup all-purpose flour
1 cup whole wheat flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt

Preheat oven to 375. Bring water and figs to a simmer in a small saucepan. Cook, stirring frequently, until thickened (about 5 minutes). Set aside to cool.

Beat butter with sugars until light and fluffy. Beat in egg and almond extract. Blend well. Sift together flour, baking powder, and salt. Mix into the creamed mixture. Stir in the cooled figs. Drop by rounded tablespoons onto lightly greased cookie sheets.

Bake for 10 to 12 minutes, until lightly browned. Wait a few minutes, then remove cookies and cool on wire racks.

– Stephanie

3 responses to “Fig-Almond Cookies

  1. These look wonderful, Stephanie. I’m sorry your vanilla went to waste, though!

  2. It’s ok! It all worked out. The almond extract makes it a little more unique, I think.

  3. didn’t have the almond extract, so I used vanilla — my VERY picky kids loved them!

Leave a comment