Local Box Meal Plan: April 25-29

Well, hello heirloom tomatoes. So nice to see you again! If you’ve been sweltering in the 90-degree days we’ve been having lately, at least take heart in the fact that the heat is helping local tomato crops.

Spring Lettuce Mix – Tecolote Farm
Chard – Bradshaw Farm
Brussels Sprouts OR Green Beans – Hillside Farm OR Naegelin Farm
Summer Squash – Acadian Family Farm
New Potatoes – Green Gate Farms
Flat Leaf Parsley – Tecolote Farm
Heirloom Tomatoes – Bluebonnet Hydroponic
Mango – G&S Groves
Crisp Green Leaf Lettuce – Lund Produce Company

Tangy herbed lettuce soup – I told you last week I’d find you a lettuce soup recipe! This one even uses up some of the potatoes you’ll get this week. Use the green leaf lettuce you get for this recipe, and stick with using the spring mix in salads. Also, use parsley instead of basil (unless you happen to have basil on hand, in which case I’d use both).

Tomato-squash skillet – I usually don’t cook heirloom tomatoes because they have such an amazing raw flavor, but if you’re tired of salads and don’t feel like eating them raw this week, try this recipe. I might add a few chickpeas to round out the protein here and make it a vegan main course, or mix in some diced, cooked chicken if you eat meat.

Chard-mango smoothie – What? Chard in a smoothie? I know! Sounds weird, but I’m a fan of spinach in smoothies and this isn’t far off. Just give it a shot if you’re skeptical – I think you’ll be surprised at how non-chardy it tastes. I would add about a cup of a liquid to this recipe, maybe some almond milk or orange juice. 

For the brussels sprouts and green beans, I’m thinking a nice turn on the grill would work for both – I’m loving grilled veggies these days. Grease a grill wok and add the veggies tossed in some olive oil and your favorite seasonings (I’ve been using lemon pepper lately). Grill over medium-high heat until tender, around 10 minutes, stirring often to keep the ones on the bottom from burning. Make sure to trim the green beans or halve the brussels sprouts before cooking. If you don’t have a grill wok, just put the veggies on a big piece of aluminum foil on the grill, or use your broiler instead.

– Stephanie

Leave a comment